The Smell

12 Oct

brassai 3

 

I got back to Rosarito after a trip to The Bahamas and settled into bed with Sophy. She said,” I can’t stand the smell – the smell from the dead dogs.”

I took a deep breath and inhaled the stink wafting in from God knows where. It was coming from the empty lot next to ours. A sweet smell, invasive, clinging to my nostrils. Sophy told me dogs were eating the dead body – she saw them.

I was tired and said I’d deal with it tomorrow.

We woke up the next morning, clinging to each other and I said, “We need a bag of lime”

I woke up, wrote a bunch of stories. Sophy drove out and returned with a couple pounds of lime. In my mind, I remembered European & African tragedies where bodies had to be sprinkled with lime.

Sophy and I walked onto the lot next to our house. There were two dead dogs. An unscathed puppy and a chewed-over mutt with a beef jerky grinning skull. I shook the lime over them, covering every body part I could see.

The next two days the rain came.

I looked out my window and saw the two bodies of the dogs, one much smaller than the other. Even in the rain, the lime clung to the dead bodies, like a candy coating.

I was glad.

Maybe they wouldn’t smell so bad.

(2013)

2 Responses to “The Smell”

  1. bradsdesk October 22, 2013 at 2:50 am #

    I’d be honored if you’d accept my nomination for the Versatile Blogger Award.
    http://bradsdesk.wordpress.com/2013/10/21/versatile-blogger-award/

    • pissingonmypistols October 22, 2013 at 3:01 am #

      Brad – the honor is all mine. Thank you very much for the nomination.

Leave a Reply

