Full of It

24 Sep

This is a new experience of California. On previous trips I’d take it all in, thinking it would be a great place to live. Now I’m here to make my stand. This landscape is mine; it’s my new home. The beach is mine. The freeway traffic, the faces in the cars, the fog in Ventura – it’s all mine.

As Devon and I were making the last leg of our trip from San Diego to LA on the 5, I looked at Devon and said, “Do you know how many people in these cars would love to have sold a script? And I’m coming into town as a screenwriter.”

Boasting, bragging, overweening pride – I don’t often indulge, but I felt boastful in the moment.

(2005)Image

Leave a Reply

