Tomahawk

2 Sep

As we drive west on I-20, Devon cracks open a book I recommended, Cormac McCarthy’s “The Crossing.” It’s the perfect moment for him to read it, crossing West Texas, with immense vistas surrounding us.

I put on the soundtrack from Michael Mann’s Last of the Mohicans. Heroic music that had bolstered me through many a commute home. As I drive I think about Ann and how I want to be the kind of lover Hawkeye was in the film. Nothing would stop him – nothing could deter him.

In my mind our family becomes a flaming triangle. We have it. The world doesn’t make it easy to keep it – but today – we have it.

(2005)

Leave a Reply

