Camouflage

3 Jun

There are some things that make me feel pretty stupid. One of them is worrying about my grey hair, wondering if it will create a bad first impression. I don’t think I write “old.” I don’t think my age can be guessed by my writing. There’s ageism in Hollywood, although I think it’s less of a problem when you’re off-stage selling a script. But eventually you have to make your entrance.

What I’m leading up to is I’m considering dying my hair. Is a dye job always noticeable? Or is it like a nose job – you only notice the bad ones.

I tried dying my hair once before with a cheap rinse and didn’t like the way I felt afterwards – it felt dishonest, and I was worried about being lumped in with all the other guys with obvious dye jobs. If I do it this time I’ll go to a salon and ask them to leave 25 percent of the grey.

You may ask, “What does my hair have to do with writing?”

Nothing.

The game is played on a lot of levels – there’s much more in play than what’s on the page.

(2005)

4 Responses to “Camouflage”

  1. Rich June 4, 2012 at 4:58 am #

    You are right, grey hair leads to a lot of misconceptions. Don’t dye it for us, only for you.

  2. Lois June 10, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

    Why not dye it bright green or purple or whatever your favourite colour is – and then you’ll be doing it for yourself and not trying to hide anything!

    • pissingonmypistols June 10, 2012 at 7:19 pm #

      Thanks, but I think I would file that under “throwing the baby out with the bathwater.” As my teenage son said, when he saw my dye job: “Whatever happened to growing old gracefully?” Words of wisdom.

Leave a Reply

