Is This Really Happening?

25 May


The door is opening. I don’t know how wide – but it’s budged more than an inch. I’m passing through to the other side, as a professional screenwriter. In some ways it’s kind of daunting. I’m being praised for my skills by those who invest millions. I know praise is cheap, but they’re backing it up with money.

It was a magical moment, hefting 104 pages of three-hole punch paper in my hand, and realizing Athenaeum is investing six million in the words we put on the page.

The daunting part is that now I’m expected to do it again. I know I can – the drive and talent is in me.

 …the shelling is over – Michael and I are coming out of our foxholes. Our ears are ringing…there’s a few minutes where we don’t trust ourselves to speak, not being able to hear our own words.

(2005)

Leave a Reply

